# **Governor's Office for Emergency Relief & Recovery**

# New Hampshire Self Employed Livelihood Fund (SELF) Program



Governor Chris Sununu has authorized the allocation and expenditure of CARES Act Coronavirus Relief Funds ("flex funds") to provide emergency financial relief New Hampshire self-employed businesses due to the economic disruption caused by COVID-19.

#### **Important Dates & Timeline**

- Grant Application Period: July 6, 2020 July 17, 2020
- Deadline to Submit Completed Application: 4:00 PM on July 17, 2020

## **Eligibility Criteria:**

For a self-employed business to qualify for a SELF Grant, it must:

• Be a "self-employed" business;

*Please note:* For purposes of the New Hampshire SELF Program, a "self-employed" business is a business that does not have any employees except owners at any time during the year, including any furloughed, laid-off, or seasonal employees. The business may be a sole proprietorship, partnership, or limited liability company (LLC). If one or more non-owner employees typically work for a business at any time during the year, including any furloughed, laid-off, or seasonal employees, the business is not a "self-employed" business. Independent contractors are not employees; an independent contractor has a "self-employed" business.

- Be a for-profit business;
- Have its principal place of business in New Hampshire;
- Have been in operation for at least one year before July 17, 2020;
- Anticipate a loss of gross receipts from 2019 to 2020 due to COVID-19;
- Have total 2019 gross receipts of less than \$1,000,000;
- Not be currently in bankruptcy;
- Not have permanently ceased operations; and
- Not have been awarded a Main Street Relief Fund Grant.

In addition, the following types of "self-employed" businesses are not eligible for grants under the New Hampshire SELF Program:

- Nonprofits;
- Franchises or national chains;
- Famers, growers, or maple producers;
- Childcare providers:
- Elementary or secondary schools;
- Institutions of higher education; and
- Hospitals or other healthcare providers.

## Complete your Grant Application here: https://gtc.revenue.nh.gov/TAP/SELF/

<u>Frequently Asked Questions:</u> <a href="https://www.goferr.nh.gov/covid-expenditures/new-hampshire-self-employed-livelihood-fund-self/new-hampshire-self-employed">https://www.goferr.nh.gov/covid-expenditures/new-hampshire-self-employed</a>

All businesses that meet the eligibility criteria described above are encouraged to submit a Grant Application. The Grant Application must be completed and submitted by 4:00 PM on Friday, July 17, 2020, using only the New Hampshire Department of Revenue Administration (DRA) web portal. *Late or incomplete applications will not be accepted*. It is recommended that applications be submitted as early as possible before the deadline, in case of questions of need for assistance. Businesses that require assistance from the DRA may contact the Call Center, which is available at (603) 230-5000, Option 0, from 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM, Monday through Friday.

The SELF Grant award amounts will be calculated similar to the Main Street Relief Fund, as described below, with the maximum award amount being \$50,000. The State of New Hampshire is not directing businesses on how to spend the money. Businesses must demonstrate they have experienced or anticipate they will experience a financial loss due to COVID-19 in order to qualify for a SELF Grant. It is expected that businesses will use the funds to assist in covering their operational costs and legal obligations.

#### The SELF Grant amount to an eligible business will be calculated as follows:

- Step 1. Calculate the business's "anticipated loss," by subtracting estimated 2020 actual gross receipts from 2019 actual gross receipts.
- Step 2. Subtract 100% of:
  - 1. The total amount of unemployment compensation benefits received by every owner of the business, regardless of ownership percentage, for the period from March 17, 2020 to July 6, 2020; and
  - 2. The combined amounts of all COVID-19-related grants and/or loans received, or projected to be received, by your business (including any affiliated businesses), since March 1, 2020.

This equals the business's "qualified loss."

Step 3. Multiply the business's "qualified loss" by 17.17% (the same pro rata percentage used for the Main Street Relief Fund).

An eligible business will receive the amount calculated in Step 3, up to \$50,000.